## SECTION 1 - CHESHIRE FIRE AUTHORITY

- 1.1 The Cheshire Fire Service (Combination Scheme) Order 1997 (the Scheme) established Cheshire Fire Authority (the Authority) for the combined area then covered by Cheshire County Council, Halton Borough Council and Warrington Borough Council. Upon local government reorganisation in 2009 the Authority's combined area became that covered by the borough councils of Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Warrington (the Constituent Authorities). At that time it was agreed that there should be 23 Councillors appointed to the Fire Authority.
- 1.2 The Scheme restricts the number of Members that may sit on the Authority (to a maximum of 25). It also requires each of the Constituent Authorities to appoint such number of representatives to be Members of the Authority as is proportionate to the number of local government electors in its area in relation to the number of such electors in each of the Constituent Authority areas. In other words the seats are allocated in proportion taking into account the electoral numbers in each of the Constituent Authority areas. The allocation is checked each year.
- 1.3 There are currently 23 elected Members of the Authority. At present the appointments are made by the Constituent Authorities as follows:

Cheshire East Borough Council	9
Cheshire West and Chester Borough Council	7
Halton Borough Council	3
Warrington Borough Council	4

- 1.4 The Authority operates a committee system rather than an executive/cabinet model. The Authority itself makes all the key decisions.
- 1.5 A copy of the Cheshire Fire Services (Combination Scheme) Order 1997 is attached as Annex 1 to this section.